Opening shop

Writing joinery

The general conceit behind this blog is that I want to start condensing the wisdom and advice I’ve had the fortune to come across as a writer and woodworker. I’m looking for the elements of the writing craft that make the job less painful, less likely to result in bodily injury or death. Said another way, I want to share what makes writing easier, more effective, more accurate. I believe that good writing is crafted writing, and that crafted writing takes not just great effort and great passion, but also a great deal of technical skill. A healthy complement of knowledge is needed, too.

Thinking about starting an Author’s blog but don’t know where to start or what to expect? | Webupon – ow.ly/edExW

— Uber Cool Doug (@AllanDouglasDgn) October 12, 2012

On that latter point, I look to Allan (Doug) Douglas for a lot of help. In addition to sharing tips, advice, and information gained through his own research, Doug also shouts out on Twitter for fellow writers. If you’re looking to build a platform, Doug’s a great guy to give you a signal boost and point you in the right direction.

Where do you go for tips, tricks, and know-how? Found any gurus you want to share? Please leave a comment below. Thanks!

About ajsikes

I am a freelance editor and author of speculative fiction in the dark/weird vein. My editing style is best described as nurturing. I treat each customer with the same respect and consideration regardless of the quality of their writing, and always aim my comments at helping writers improve and strengthen their work. For more information, please visit me at my website.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Opening shop

  1. I am honored and humbled by your comments, Aaron. I wish you much success in this venture.

Leave a Reply

