First times

Dovetail

That’s a pic of my first ever hand cut dovetail joint in a couple bits of offcut doug fir. I used my grandfather’s dovetail saw to do it. By my novitiate’s estimation I can safely say I made a complete mess of it.

I mean look at the gaps. The mismatched sizes on the pins and tails. It’s rubbish.

And I completely love it to death.

I’m sure all you writers out there remember your first ever story that got accepted, and what happened when you got it back from the editor. That initial feeling of dread at the task before you. Then the sense of abject failure followed by thoughts of what you’d like to do to that editor’s little red pen if you ever got your hands on it.

Still with me?

Then reality opens its arms and welcomes you like the prodigal child you are. You open the document a second (maybe third or fourth) time. You look at the comments carefully. You think about each one just long enough for it to sink in.

And then you start typing.

What was your first time? Did your story see the light of publication? Magazine or novel?

About ajsikes

I am a freelance editor and author of speculative fiction in the dark/weird vein. My editing style is best described as nurturing. I treat each customer with the same respect and consideration regardless of the quality of their writing, and always aim my comments at helping writers improve and strengthen their work. For more information, please visit me at my website.
This entry was posted in Around the Shop, Writing Craft. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to First times

  1. F.M. Longo says:

    I’m looking forward to seeing my name for the first time in print. I have the bottle of champagne that I bought when I wrote my first story ready to chill for the big day!

  2. Kimberly says:

    my first time was similar, tho a very different world – scientific publishing. Pay lots of money (usually) to a scientific journal if they accept your paper that has been peer-reviewed by an editor and 3 anonymous (not really if your field is small) peers. Learn to write very clearly, be very boring. nix any exciting adjectives.

Leave a Reply

