Fortune’s Formula – Part 6

Documentation

Dollhouse_Stage3

A dollhouse built entirely from reclaimed and offcut materials.

Tis the season for building, that’s for sure. In between starting an editing and formatting business with a good writing friend, and working on my novel, which releases in serial form this December, I’ve been clocking time in the woodshop making the girls’ Christmas gift.

Like Michael Fortune advises, I’m taking photos, making sketches and notes, and keeping them as organized as my scatterbrain lets me.

Documenting the build is as important, if not more so, than planning it out. You get to pick out all the trouble spots first hand and record your solutions – for the next time you’re faced with a similar problem. You get to mark up any alterations you were forced to make due to unforeseen changes in material, miscuts, new ideas, and so forth.

Same goes for writing projects. All those big, exciting things your protagonist is going to do? Call me when you’re done and we can share a glass of misery over all the darlings left lying strewn about the cutting room floor.

Stories change as you write them. Can’t be helped. Best way to manage it that I’ve found is to let it be and keep a record of anything major that cropped up.

It occurred to me as I started this post that we’re up to our knees in NaNoWriMo right about now. At 1667 words per day to make the 50K goal by month’s end, all you NaNoers should be nearing the 10K mark today. Big pat on the back if you’ve done it! Bigger swat on the, erm…well, let’s just say I’m here to encourage you onward to your goal. Go get ’em, writers!

On the documentation angle, if you’re not doing it already, and especially if you’re a NaNoer, go get a copy of Scrivener. It’s on special for NaNoWriMo, so you’re pretty well out of excuses for not having a copy and finally tossing Word into the bin with the rest of the test cuts and things you might use again someday but probably won’t and are just too timid to throw away completely as of yet. 😉

 

Next post and the close of this series: Part 7 – Evaluation

About ajsikes

I am a freelance editor and author of speculative fiction in the dark/weird vein. My editing style is best described as nurturing. I treat each customer with the same respect and consideration regardless of the quality of their writing, and always aim my comments at helping writers improve and strengthen their work. For more information, please visit me at my website.
This entry was posted in Around the Shop, Writing Craft. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

