Sequels and Second Efforts

Do you know what happens after you’ve written a book?

It’s not one of those expected questions you’ll hear at a Meet The Author event. What do you do after you finish a book? Or maybe it is. I’ve yet to attend such an event, either as guest or guest of honor. I’m basing my assumption on all the interviews I’ve read or listened to with my favorite authors.

Rarely do I hear about what comes next. Entry_hall1

Oh sure, you hear about the book signings and whatnot.

But what about the next story idea? The next project? Some of the authors I edit for can answer that question without missing a beat. Writers like Colin F Barnes and David Beers, Jasper T Scott and Zoe Markham. They’re writing or editing everyday, and if they’re not, they’re doing something related to a writing project.

Researching, plotting, outlining, or, a personal favorite, retaining the services of an editor and locking in future dates for when the manuscript is drafted (I’m booked through October, fyi).

Dining_room5All of this got me thinking about a woodshop project I started two months ago.

After I finished last year’s Christmas dollhouse for my daughters, I got to thinking that it’d be nice to have a kit I could return to, building it again and again, with variations, and maybe making a little extra dough on the side. A cottage industry alongside my stay-at-home-dad editing business.

Something I could always point to if asked What are you working on next?

The lessons learned in the Christmas project were varied and numerous. When to assemble the walls to the base (do it after you’ve completed the interior!) What kind of joinery to use when assembling floors and walls (dados are your best friend!)Second_floor5

No surprise that learning from a first effort translated pretty well to my follow up novel to Gods of Chicago. I started on Gods of New Orleans two months ago, right about the time I cut out the base and exterior walls for Dollhouse Mark II. As of this writing I’m at the 45% mark with the dollhouse. Somewhere around the 5% mark with the second novel.

Both are slow going, but just like those authors named above, I’m able to point to either project and say with confidence that it’s a work in progress, and I can even offer an expected date of completion.

Entry_hall4_01The dollhouse should be finished sometime around September, barring any major mishaps. Gods of New Orleans should be drafted by Jan 2015, with an expected release of May 2015.

Stay tuned, hey? And stay in touch.

About ajsikes

I am a freelance editor and author of speculative fiction in the dark/weird vein. My editing style is best described as nurturing. I treat each customer with the same respect and consideration regardless of the quality of their writing, and always aim my comments at helping writers improve and strengthen their work. For more information, please visit me at my website.
This entry was posted in Around the Shop, Writing Craft. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Sequels and Second Efforts

  1. Happy to hear you’re squeezing in a writing project, Aaron! The only people who never get there are the ones who turn around before they’ve arrived. Some people have more milestones than others, but we all get there if we just keep improving what we do.

  2. ajsikes says:

    Cheers, mate. Thanks, and back at ya!

  3. Good job, Aaron. That daily grind is what it’s all about. Good luck for your projects!

Leave a Reply

